The 2012 Resolution Game

Like I’ve said a hundred thousand times. This blogging thing doesn’t come that easily for me. I’m not good at it.

At all.

baby steps, baby steps.

Today is the first day of a brand new year! A year that I feel is going to be a GREAT one. The morning started out with a nice 1.52 mile run at an 11:30 pace. I’ve had faster, but I also haven’t run in 3 weeks (I honestly didn’t mean for that to happen..) and the workout continued later in the day with Insanity. I think I started 2012 out the right way.

2012 is going to be seriously fantastic. I just know it. The biggest planned thing happening in 2012? I’m going to FRANCE. I leave San Francisco April 21 and I land in Marseilles on April 22. EXCITEDEXCITEDEXCITEDEXCITED.

Obviously, France can’t be the only achievement that happens in 2012 land, so in truly original form (seriously, nobody else does this) I’m going to make a list of resolutions or things I’d like to happen in 2012 (resolutions aren’t that popular, right?) I’d like to think that I’m glorious enough to not need to make resolutions but, let’s be honest, I’m not as perfect as I think I am.

Funny Napoleon Dynamite Ecard: I don't have a New Year's resolution. You don't need that crap when you're perfect.

I only started even thinking about resolutions last night…at 1am. I’m hella* typeA and normally plan things and write them out countless times (I can’t be the only one that will rewrite an entire page if I don’t like how my handwriting turned out….right?), but I’ve never really done resolutions before.  With my weight loss and my new love of fitness, thought, I feel like resolutions are another goal to look forward to. So, here we go!:

1.) Complete Insanity
I’m done with week 1. (I restarted. For another post), I’d like to complete it correctly. Not skipping around days and stopping and starting. Doing the two month program in two months.

2.) Reach goal weight
Right now I have a goal weight of 130 (ideally 120, but I don’t want to let myself down) At 5’5″, I think that’s about right, and at my current weight of 169, that leaves another 39   pounds to lose.  I hope to do this before I leave for France. I have a little less than 4 months. Yikes. Can I do it?

3.) Complete a half marathon
This is a really big goal for me in 2012. I even went as far as to find a half marathon in Europe the same time as I’m going to be there. The Geneva Half Marathon for Unicef. That’s the one I’m shooting for. It’s on May 6, and I would like to finish Insanity before I go full force into training. The Insanity is slated to be done on February 26. That would leave me with less than two months of training though, and I don’t likey. So, we’ll have to work that training schedule out.

4.) Save $100 a month
I’m a college student. I’m always broke. I JUST WANT MONEY.

5.) Consistently blog
I really love the idea of having my own blog. I’m OBSESSED with stalking everybody else. It’s secretly one of my biggest dreams to have people be interested enough in my words to read my blog like I read others.

6.) Take more pictures
I do love photography. I’m not gonna sit here an say that I’m a photographer. At all. But, I want to remember things more, it’s obvious that pictures do that.  And with my new camera, this should be an easy resolution!

Funny Somewhat Topical Ecard: Sorry you're the only person who thinks you're an artist.

7.) Attend a spin class
It’s my biggest goal in life to be original. It’s not like every other blogger runs and goes to spin classes.

8.) Keep running
The past 5 months have been so amazing.  I’ve developed a love for running, for moving.  But, I’ve also noticed how easy I give up on myself and let myself not run for long periods of time. I’m hoping to change that.

9.) Volunteer more
This is also an original resolution. It’s nice to be philanthropic.

10.) …is a relationship too much to ask for?
I’ve been single for a long time. I know, I’m only 19 and I don’t want to get married anytime soon, but my last serious relationship was my sophomore year in high school and speaking honestly, no relationship is serious at 15. And he was an ass. …I would just maybe like someone to be with? Yes. I do realize that this an especially pathetic resolution. Shoot me.

Funny Flirting Ecard: date rape drugs are too expensive, so i'll just have to win you over with my charm and charisma.

11.) QUIT CURSING ALL THE DARN TIME.
It’s not cute and I don’t like it. This trashy sailor mouth is going bye bye.
That’s it! So far! Like I said, didn’t really think about it too much. I hope your resolutions are better than mine and you follow through with yours!

*….it’s a NorCal thing.

Leave a Reply

