French Friday…On Saturday

The one thing that seems to be filling my mind recently is France.

At the end of April, I’m going to be there.  In France.  In Europe.  For the first time in my life, I will be traveling alone, to an extremely foreign place, out of my element and away from my normal life.

Before everyone freaks out (namely me. calm down, Britt, calm down), I’m only going to be gone for 3 weeks and I’m staying with my best friend, Milan, who is studying abroad through her university in Aix-en-Provence, the south of France. (For any curious ones out there, the answer is yes, that is right near Johnny Depp. No need for jealousy)  For 3 weeks, I’ll get to peruse Europe with one of my absolute favorite people and I literally can’t even bring to words how extremely in awe I am that I am finally getting to Europe. (I was supposed to go my Sophomore year in high school. But, that’s neither here nor there and I’d rather not dwell on the beginning of my melt down)

While I’m obviously excited to just be in a foreign place and spawn my life of travel when I am gifted with my first passport stamp, I’m much more excited to say that I am going to France.  The language, the lifestyle, the food, pretty much everything about France, Ahhh, j’adore!

I’ve decided to do a new segment (segments? I think I’m supposed to have followers and blog regularly to actually have a segment. don’t care, doing it anyways) French Friday* where I post one place I would like to visit while over there and a vocabulary** word (or phrase) that has to do with said destination (more of an actual place, like a restaurant or a shop, rather than a city). Fun, right? I think so.

______________________________________________________________

The Phrase:
brasserie = brewery

This famous destination, Les Deux Garçons, is a brasserie along the Cours Mirabeau in Aix-en-Provence.  Built in 1792, it was a famous haunt for some of the cultural phenomenons that we know today.  Such as Edith Piaf, Pablo Picasso, Ernest Hemingway, and Paul Cézanne. The website even says that George Clooney can be seen there nowadays. I may not be a George Clooney fan, but I’m not gonna say no to possibly seeing him.  Surprisingly the menu is not college student budget friendly, so eating there might not happen.  A shellfish platter at a reasonable 98 euro (around 150 US) and the “Dish of the Week” for a more reasonable 16 euro (around 25 US) is a little out of the question for me.  But, just knowing that I’m standing in the same spot that Edith Piaf once stood at is rich enough for me. Who needs food when you can suck up that much cultural history. Am I right?

(source)

Yeah, yeah that wasn’t so informational. I get it, but right now it’s 2:00a.m. and I’m exhaustier (french meets english. it happens.) so, that means a less informational post for a more rested Brittany. I promise a better one next Friday. I swear!

*I do, in fact, realize this post is being published on Saturday morning. I’ll try to not ever do that again.
**Take the vocabulary with a grain of salt.  While I do have some high school and community college French classes under my shrinking belt, most of these words are coming straight from google translate.

Leave a Reply

