Unsubscribed

Well, it’s day two of Elf for Health and I can proudly say that I have completed all two of the challenges that we’ve had so far.

Pats on the back all around.
Thank you, thank you. You’re all so sweet.

Day one was to go meatless, day two is to unsubscribe to any unwanted newsletters, companies, catalogs, or any other annoying junk mail that is cluttering inboxes. Going meatless was pretty simple. I don’t eat much meat anyways (normally just some lunch meat on a sandwich and then some chicken at dinner), so it was easy to cut that out. I aimed to make sweet potato skins. But, I’m too impatient to wait the full 60 minutes the damn thing required to cook. So, out they went at 40 minutes and they were shockingly still not cooked. After spending all day at school with contacts that are three months old and blood shot eyes that made it look like I did all the drugs I just mashed everything together and called it “dinner.”

Screen Shot 2013-11-26 at 4.17.10 PM

 

The beer was more of a necessity than I care to admit.

My eating was pretty alright, too. And you know by ‘pretty alright’ I mean not that great. It started out well enough. Oatmeal with berries for breakfast, burrito bowl with hardly anything in it for lunch, a skinny peppermint latte, and a granola bar. Then it was around 7 at night and half way through my chemistry class and I needed wanted craved something evil. Enter vending machine that takes debit cards (because who really ever has cash nowadays) and a snickers in my hand. Then it went downhill. Dinner was pretty healthy, the beer not so much. The blizzard and french fries a la Dairy Queen at midnight didn’t help too much either. I just seem to lose pretty much all of my self control as soon as I can’t see the sun anymore.

At least I went for a run yesterday! At 7:30 in the morning, no warming up (big mistake), frozen hands, and only fifteen minutes long you can’t really call it a “run” but it was the first time in months that I put on my running shoes to actually run outside. I couldn’t convince myself that it felt nice all of yesterday. But, now I can say that at least I did it.

That’s something I need to do more often. Be proud of the fact that I did something. I am the epitome of a Negative Nance (Nance and not Nancy because Portlandia is hilarious). I always could do better and things are always terrible kind of thing. I’m fairly sure that if I can change that then my everything else would seem so much better.

Groundbreaking news, yeah?

I completed the first two challenges. I may not have been the healthiest throughout the day, but I did positive things within those negatives. They are the things that really count.

Tomorrow is day three and has a challenge of attempting a new workout. I’m going to toss in another challenge of seeing and acknowledging the positive in my life and unsubscribing from the negative (see what I did there? I’m incorporating today’s challenge into my own challenge. I’m clever.)

Who’s with me?

 

Leave a Reply

