Marathon Monday: Week One

If everyone could come together to do the most dramatic of drum rolls to introduce….

Marathon Monday!

THE FIRST OF ITS KIND.

THE WEEK WHERE IT ALL BEGINS.

THE BEGINNING OF A NEW ERA.

20140126-215118.jpg

Should I digress? I guess so.

But, on a more serious note, marathon training starts TODAY. Like, this blog post will be sharing the same 24 hours as my first official training run. Even though it’s only 2 miles. It’s a training run. Not that this is any new news here, but I’m running my first ever marathon on July 27 in the most gorgeous, most perfect, and most hilly cities around: San Francisco. I have been to San Francisco more times than I can count and crossing the Golden Gate Bridge is a scene that will never get boring.

I’m secretly hoping that San Francisco’s famous fog is there the day of the race. To me, this is probably one of the best times to see the Golden Gate. It’s almost as if its toying with you. The fog covers most of it, but then there will be that one spot that is open and you can see that quick glimpse of rust. Nothing is better.

EXCEPT FOR RUNNING ACROSS IT.

To be honest, I didn’t even think about the fact that San Francisco is crazy hilly when I entered my credit card number and pushed register. Didn’t even occur to me. And now it’s a terrifying factor, but I’ll save that ramble for another Marathon Monday. When I actually begin to attempt hill training. If I don’t have buns of steel after this marathon is over, I’m gonna have a real problem. (Buns of steel? Get yourself together, Brittany)

Like the good student I am who never procrastinates and gets all work done in a timely fashion, I waited until the semester was over and grades were in before I made my Marathon Folder. Immediately after I registered back in October, I spent about 3 or 4 hours putting together my Marathon Folder. In it holds my training plan, my registration confirmation, and the course map.

20140126-140638.jpg

I’m following a 26 week training plan. I know that that is much longer than normal training plans but I am going back into running as a complete beginner. I’m hoping to use the first 3 weeks as a Couch to 5k type of plan and just work on building endurance and then I can really get down to the depth of marathon training. And the hills. I found a training plan online and then made an excel spreadsheet out of it a la Liz of One Twenty Five.

Monday: 2 miles, easy

Tuesday: Rest

Wednesday: 2 miles, easy

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 2 miles, easy

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: Rest

Total: 6 miles

I’ve got my pretty purple Garmin Forerunner 10 all charged up and ready to go. I’ve got my clothes laid out. I’ve got my marathon face on.

LET’S GO.

3 thoughts on “Marathon Monday: Week One

  1. I’ve been toying with signing up for the San Francisco half marathon, but after running the 15k two weeks ago, I am leaning toward not doing it. The hills are insane! You are going to rock them!

Leave a Reply

