Belated Marathon Monday

Why hello there!

It’s been a couple days since I’ve checked in and that can all be boiled down to the small, irritating fact that last week was a miserable, awful, atrocious week from hell regarding running, the scale, and my general life. #melodramatic

I could not gather any motivation to put my shoes on and run. I’m now sitting at about 7 miles behind on my training (in the grand scheme of things, not terrible, but..) and I’m just angry with myself. And then the one day I decided I was motivated enough to run I made it .21 miles (ZERO POINT TWENTY ONE) before I had to call it quits because of my damn knees. I still don’t know what was going on with them, but they hated me for a while. After that I had a full blown meltdown on the phone with my mom for about 30 minutes complaining about everything that I saw.

I’m a peach.

And then Sunday came along. I had plans to go see The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (for the third time) with a couple friends (one is technically my boss? supervisor?) from the church I volunteer at every Saturday. I decided the night before I would run to the theater knowing I had a 4 miler planned for Sunday. And boy howdy I actually did it! Even with waking up at 12:45 in the afternoon (…I was up until 4am which makes that okay) and the movie starting at 2:30. I left my apartment around 1:20 and set off. I ran planned my route to go through one of the local running trails and the architecturally famous bridge (Sundial Bridge) and I’m REALLY GLAD I did that. It was probably 65 or 70 degrees outside and everyone decided to spend the day outside. It was nice being around active people. I ended up making it to the theater 10 minutes before showtime.
20140219-001947.jpg

Not too pleased with my time. I guess that what happens when you take 4 lazy days and add mileage. Running is hard. But, I DID IT. And I can’t be upset with that.

And onwards to this week’s training schedule!

Monday: Recovery

Tuesday: Rest

Wednesday: 3 miles

Thursday: 30 minutes of cross training

Friday: 3 miles

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: 5 miles

Fingers crossed that I actually stick to it this week. I can’t keep putting the runs off.

I’m also setting a goal of taking more pictures when I run or when I do things, period. Garmin pictures will just get boring after a while, right?

How easy is it for you to push through a “meltdown?”

6 thoughts on “Belated Marathon Monday

  1. I’m glad I found your blog. I’e had plenty of meltdowns that involve running, ect. I always remind myself that running is a process and that I should enjoy each run even if it’s not my fastest. Getting out there is what really counts!

  2. I’ve been slacking on running too-I’ve been stuck on the same day in my C25K program for 2+ weeks but don’t feel ready to move on…so I’ve majorly slacked off. I am so impressed that you ran to the movie theater, and so jealous of your watcher! We just got MORE snow so it’s feeling like I’ll never get to run in warm weather again!

  3. I’ve been to Redding approximately 6 bazillion times and I have yet to go over the Sundial Bridge. I’ve had terrible days where I’ve majorly slacked off too. And days where I complain about everything in sight. Good job on actually running to the theater! I probably would have talked myself out of it.

    • The next time you’re in Redding you should def go to the bridge! It has a glass bottom and the views over the river are gorgeous on a sunny day. I’m surprised I went through with the run, actually, ha. I gotta keep remembering “It always feels better once you get out there.”

Leave a Reply

